gold & diamonds

Ginkgo gold 6Ginkgo gold 4 Ginkgo gold 9 Gingko goldGinkgo gold 11It’s been raining almost continuously for the better part of the last five days – soft, gentle showers that continue for hours on end (excellent weather for baking, reading and sleep). Every now and again there’s a break and during one such lull we took a walk and found a group of ten Gingko trees still holding onto their leaves – some more than others. Beneath several trees an undisturbed golden carpet had already formed, while the leaves of other trees still clung tight to the branches. As we stood surveying the scene, we were awestruck by the ephemeral beauty. Just then, the sun peeked through the clouds and illuminated one side of the square, making every leaf sparkle and glow with a dazzling intensity. For a fleeting moment, everything turned to gold and diamonds.

13 thoughts on “gold & diamonds

    • I would be, too + you captured “spellbound” in your photos!

      Also, for some reason, I resubscribed to your post today – I never knew I unsubscribed lol … crazy, can’t figure that one out … it has happened before with other people. I need to pay attention- I don’t want to miss your posts + new adventures πŸ™‚

  1. Hope your house hunting is going well, I did a post on Rosiland + thought of you-have you seen her place lately? I sure hope you get an interview with a great lady someday-when things slow down πŸ™‚
    Happy Spring!

    • Hi Robbie! Please excuse my long absence from WordPress/blogging … we moved into our “new” house (built in 1959) on the day after Christmas and were immediately hit with a leaking roof (in more than one location), damaged floors and a 9-month-old Samsung refrigerator that suddenly decided to die! On top of all that, I was dreadfully sick for most of December and all of January. I’m so incredibly happy that winter is over and you popped by to wish me a Happy Spring! That was so wonderfully thoughtful of you – thank you! I can’t wait to head over to your site to read your post on Rosalind Creasy. Sadly, I haven’t been by her lovely garden lately, but will make a point of doing so soon … it always makes me smile. Just like you!

    • awww:-) You get better! Spring is good for the soul πŸ™‚ I will check on you again-don’ t stay away too long!

    • Thanks Robbie! I’ve been working in the yard – getting rid of that awful invasive horsetail and planting more natives. Digging and planting in the garden is such a great way to deal with stress! I should also mention that this house came with a lawn, whose days are numbered πŸ˜‰ I’ll try to post about the progress I’ve made soon. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

