Tomato Harvest 2013 Totals

first Paul Robeson tomato harvest

June 20, 2013

Tomato Harvest 7-25-2013

July 25, 2013

Tomato Harvest 8-1-2013

August 1, 2013

Tomato Harvest 8-4-2013

August 4, 2013

Tomato Harvest 8-12-2013

August 12, 2013

Tomato Harvest 8-17-2013

August 17, 2013

Tomato Harvest 8-22-2013

August 22, 2013

Tomato Harvest 8-31-2013

August 31, 2013

Tomato Harvest 9-1-2013

September 1, 2013

Tomato Harvest 9-7-2013

September 7, 2013

Tomato Harvest 9-13-2013

September 13, 2013

Tomato Harvest 9-17-2013

September 17, 2013

Tomato Harvest 9-25-2013

September 25, 2013

Tomato Harvest 9-26-2013

September 26, 2013

Tomato Harvest 10-7-1013

October 7, 2013

Tomato Harvest 10-9-2013

October 9, 2013

Our tomato harvest is just about finished so I’ve decided to start tallying the results …

Tomato Harvest 2013 TallyCan you believe it? 258 tomatoes! All that from a few plants, a good dose of sunshine, a simple little drip irrigation system, three bags of composted chicken manure, some fish heads, a dozen crushed egg shells, earthworm castings and an occasional blast of neem oil. Our two best plants – both purchased as seedlings in two inch pots from Love Apple Farms on March 21st and immediately transplanted into gallon pots before being planted in the ground on May 4th – produced over 245 tomatoes this summer! Two plants: 245 tomatoes! Amazing isn’t it? And that doesn’t even include the losses we suffered from pests like this:

Hornworms on Paul RobesonA serious infestation of voracious hornworms ruined over a dozen tomatoes on each plant!

Hornworm in action 2We didn’t think the plants would survive, but much to our amazement, they bounced right back and have kept on producing. As of today, these two plants still have 39 tomatoes ripening on the vine and at least a dozen flowers apiece.

And don’t forget all of those countless handfuls and bowls of beautiful, delicious cherry tomatoes … they were a mix of Sun Golds and Sweet 100s produced by just two plants.

Finally, my favorite tomatoes this summer (based strictly upon taste) were Paul Robeson (delicious on sandwiches!) and the Sun Gold cherries – I’ll definitely be planting them both again next year. What was your favorite / best producing tomato plant was this summer?

To see my results from last summer, read my Farewell to Summer post.

4 thoughts on “Tomato Harvest 2013 Totals

  1. Wow – beautiful tomatoes! I have never actually counted my harvests. This year I crowded my tomatoes. I saved a lot of seed last year and grew them all from seed so I didn’t have the heart to ditch any plants. There’s always next year to improve but I still have lots of tomatoes.

    Your home is absolutely beautiful! With that courtyard I find it so flattering that you could admire my porch! Our house was built in 1876 and doesn’t have large glass walls and lots of light but does boast a beautifully carved staircase with acorns and oak leaves. That’s why I planted a Pin Oak out back – because of the staircase (and wildlife value). My husband and I just ripped out all the carpet (and plywood AND old linoleum) upstairs and are in the process of painting the original wide plank floor boards. It has added about 3 inches of height to all of our rooms!

    • I’m a former science teacher & my husband is a former accountant so gathering & analyzing data just comes naturally to us – hence the annual tomato count. We get a kick out of it. Many of our neighbors don’t bother planting tomatoes (or herbs, or vegetables) even though the weather here is perfect for growing them, so this is my way of trying to show how easy & rewarding it can be. I really wish more people would grow food, rather than just a lawn.

      I absolutely love screened porches and the view from yours is beautiful! I am so impressed with how you’ve transformed your entire yard – the before & after is truly amazing! I’d love to see a photo of the carved acorns & oak leaves – I fall head over heels for those sorts of details! Thanks for visiting!

Leave a Reply

