Friday Flora & Fresh Air

Penstemon Margarita BOP 1Penstemon Margarita BOP

Paul Robeson TomatoPaul Robeson tomato blossoms

Caspian Pink TomatoCaspian Pink tomato blossoms

Sungold TomatoSungold tomatoes

Roman artichokes and lemon bottlebrushRomanesco artichokes (with a mass of lemon bottlebrush blossoms in the background)

SucculentsRegardless of the what the calendar says, summer has officially arrived! We’ve had blistering hot weather all week, with temperatures in the high 80s and 90s – in the shade! No doubt about it, spring is long gone. The foothills are turning gold, I’ve had to move my succulents into the shade, my Penstemon Margarita BOP is in full bloom and my tomato plants don’t just have flowers, they have little tomatoes forming! Granted, I did buy my tomato seedlings much earlier this year, but for a midwestern gal like me, this is weird. My sister who lives in Chicago was visiting earlier in the week and could not comprehend seeing my neighbor’s roses in full bloom; back home, only the tulips and ornamental trees are flowering. The fact that we were eating artichokes from my garden blew both of us away. I can’t wait for the tomatoes!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Leave a Reply

