Day Trip: Renga Arts, Sebastopol

renga arts 1

On our way up to Sonoma via the scenic Gravenstein Highway, I spotted the fabulous sign for Renga Arts and immediately pulled over. Wine tasting could wait, I had to check this out!

renga arts violin playing dogrenga arts 3renga arts owlsrenga arts owl

renga arts bulldog

Before I even stepped foot in the shop, I was head over heels in love with these larger than life pieces made from salvaged materials. It’s no wonder this artwork resonates with me – I’m the granddaughter of a blacksmith aching to learn how to weld. Maybe I’ll finally sign up for the metalworking classes offered at the Evanston Art Center !

renga arts escama studio clutch

Feeling incredibly inspired, I stepped inside Renga Arts studio to find a treasure trove of imaginative, handmade functional art – all of it created from reclaimed, recycled and repurposed materials. Like a kid in a candy store, I joyfully perused each and every item and in the end, I fell in love with this chain mail clutch purse from Escama Studio, a fair trade artist cooperative located in Brazil. Handmade using recycled aluminum pop can pull-tabs, the design is both clever and beautiful – so much so that I bought one for me and one for each of my sisters. Thank you Renga Arts!

If you’re visiting Sonoma County wine country or on your way to Sebastopol, be sure to stop by – you won’t be disappointed. And if you’re in the neighborhood today, stop by tonight for their two year anniversary party and opening reception for their ROBOT themed invitational art show.

Leave a Reply

