Friday Flora & Fresh Air

Pink Lichen Pink Rain Pink RaindropLichen tree Pink Quincesnow dropsLast night the rain sang me to sleep. When I awoke, everything was washed clean, the air was crisp and fresh, and I was greeted with an explosion of new growth and bird song. This is my favorite time of year here. Once the winter rains pass, the unrelenting sunshine – without clouds, without shade – can be brutal. But this morning was intoxicating. This morning was bliss. The ornamental trees and the quince are in full bloom and the fruit trees are all developing buds. I know I looked like a crazy person, crouching low in the wet grass, kneeling down to see the grape hyacinths and snow drops, drunk on raindrops and flower petals. As I took that last shot, a friendly wet nose greeted me; Buddy, with his beautiful reddish coat and big brown eyes, is the most gentle, most relaxed golden retriever I’ve ever had the pleasure to meet. It was a good morning to be lead by a fine dog and friend, for the rest of my morning walk.

“Imagine! Imagine! The long and wondrous journeys still to be ours.”

– from Last Night the Rain Spoke to Me by Mary Oliver

(What Do We Know, Da Capo Press, 2002)

Have a wonderful, joyful weekend!

Leave a Reply

