Blast from the Past

Two weeks ago I published The Long Journey Home. Part memoir, part love letter eulogy – I wrote this essay four years ago to deal with the gradual loss of my parents. It was difficult and terrifying to share, but I wanted to mark their passing with something personal, something meaningful.

In the essay, I ask a “where are you now” question. I never expected to get an answer.

Carolyn 3rd Bday 1970

Summer, 1970. My 3rd birthday party. I’m in the center of the frame. My sister, Kathleen, is sitting next to me and next to her is my long lost best friend, Timmy Allen.

This morning, Tim commented on The Long Journey Home. We haven’t seen or spoke to one another since I moved away, over 35 years ago. Hoping for the best, but preparing for the worst (is this just a prank?), I sent an email to the person claiming to be Tim. Moments later, I received a reply – it really was him. The wonders of the internet never cease to amaze me. I’m so thankful I overcame my fear, started this blog and finally posted that essay. I’m so glad Tim contacted me. My hands are still trembling. Look at my face in that photograph. That’s exactly how I feel at this moment.

Thank you Tim.  You made my day!

2 thoughts on “Blast from the Past

    • Feels just like yesterday for me too! Thank you again for being such a bright spot in my life and for contacting me after all these years. BTW … Kathleen says “hello” and is equally blown away by all of this!

Leave a Reply

